Skip to content
Posted Band

Ashby source · 22 successful snapshot days

OpenAI careers: 830 current job openings

A source-attributed view of current OpenAI job openings, employer-posted salary ranges, and hiring activity collected from Sep 4, 2026 through Sep 27, 2026.

latest public roles
830
roles with salary evidence
673
successful snapshot days
22
latest collection (UTC)
Sep 27, 2026

Answer-first company summary

Key observations

Deterministic summaries of the published company artifact. Comparison language appears only when an exact 7-, 30-, or 90-day boundary exists; the tables below remain the exact-value source.

  1. 7-day hiring activity

    OpenAI public posting count increased by 12 over 7 days

    Active advertised roles on the public Ashby board moved from 818 on Sep 20, 2026 to 830 on Sep 27, 2026. This is a public-posting demand signal, not completed hires, headcount, or company performance.

  2. Posted salary transparency

    OpenAI salary disclosure rate fell by 1.2 percentage points over 7 days

    Parseable employer-posted salary evidence moved from 673/818 active roles (82.3%) to 673/830 (81.1%) at the exact boundary. 5 original currency/pay-interval groups are kept separate, with no foreign-exchange conversion or annualization.

  3. Employer-labeled hiring mix

    “Technical Success” led 7-day department-label movement; “London, UK” led 7-day location-label movement

    “Technical Success” moved from 54 to 62 postings (+8). “London, UK” moved from 30 to 37 postings (+7). Labels are employer-provided, can overlap, and are not a normalized taxonomy or proof of an organizational decision.

  4. Verified posting-level change

    Employer-posted range changed for “Applied AI Engineer, Cyber” on Sep 24, 2026

    The USD/year range moved from USD 266,000–362,000/year to USD 211,000–292,000/year between Sep 23, 2026 and Sep 24, 2026. This is one posting-level observation, not a companywide pay trend.

Hiring velocity

Source-backed comparison windows

Advertised roles, not hires

7-day net change

+12

818 roles on Sep 20, 2026 → 830 on Sep 27, 2026Salary disclosure movement673/818 (82.3%) → 673/830 (81.1%) · -1.2 pp

Change by dimension

Hiring mix changes

Start and end counts use the employer's own department and location labels on the exact comparison boundaries. Only labels whose posting count changed are listed.

Sep 20, 2026–Sep 27, 2026

7-day mix change

Departments and teams

Technical Success54 → 62+8
Sales45 → 39-6
Support Delivery25 → 31+6
Go To Market149 → 144-5
Applied AI106 → 110+4
User Operations53 → 57+4
Finance25 → 29+4
Consumer Devices23 → 27+4

Showing 8 of 42 changed labels in this observation window.

Locations

London, UK30 → 37+7
San Francisco593 → 599+6
US - Remote51 → 46-5
Dublin, Ireland20 → 25+5
Paris, France6 → 9+3
Bangalore - Remote1 → 4+3
New York City91 → 89-2
Munich, Germany8 → 10+2

Showing 8 of 17 changed labels in this observation window.

A posting can carry multiple department or location labels and therefore appear in more than one row. Label changes reflect the source taxonomy as published; they do not prove an organizational change.

Daily UTC record

Snapshot history

Successful snapshots only

Observed active posting history

22 observations · range 769–830

OpenAI observed public job postings22 successful UTC snapshots from 2026-09-04 through 2026-09-27, with active public job-posting counts ranging from 769 to 830. Lines connect consecutive dates only.
Points mark successful UTC snapshots; the filled point is the latest observation. 2 collection gaps break the line. The chart shows advertised roles, not hires or headcount, and supplements the exact table below.
Date (UTC)ActiveAppearedConfirmed closedSalary disclosed
Sep 27, 2026830——673 (81.1%)
Sep 25, 20268301515673 (81.1%)
Sep 24, 2026825227673 (81.6%)
Sep 23, 20268181522670 (81.9%)
Sep 22, 2026810174663 (81.9%)
Sep 21, 202681510671 (82.3%)
Sep 20, 2026818024673 (82.3%)
Sep 19, 2026818——673 (82.3%)
Sep 17, 20268181313673 (82.3%)
Sep 16, 2026811199670 (82.6%)
Sep 15, 2026805191667 (82.9%)
Sep 14, 202679511663 (83.4%)
Sep 13, 2026795110663 (83.4%)
Sep 12, 20267952013663 (83.4%)
Sep 11, 2026785129655 (83.4%)
Sep 10, 20267871512654 (83.1%)
Sep 9, 2026781134647 (82.8%)
Sep 8, 202678020650 (83.3%)
Sep 7, 202678231652 (83.4%)
Sep 6, 202677922651 (83.6%)
Sep 5, 2026778110650 (83.5%)
Sep 4, 2026769——642 (83.5%)

Current hiring mix

Where the latest roles are concentrated

Departments and teams

Go To Market144
Scaling118
Applied AI110
Research68
Applied AI Engineering63
Technical Success62
User Operations57
Marketing46

Locations

San Francisco599
Seattle90
New York City89
US - Remote46
London, UK37
Singapore34
Washington, DC31
Dublin, Ireland25

Multi-location and multi-team postings can appear in more than one row, so these assignments do not necessarily sum to the active-role total.

Posted salary

Employer-disclosed compensation evidence

Salary disclosure by department and location

Each rate uses active roles carrying the employer's label as its denominator and roles with at least one parseable employer salary disclosure as its numerator.

Departments and teams

Roles with disclosure / active labeled roles

Go To Market55/14438.2%
Scaling114/11896.6%
Applied AI108/11098.2%
Research67/6898.5%
Applied AI Engineering62/6398.4%
Technical Success23/6237.1%
User Operations40/5770.2%
Marketing35/4676.1%

Locations

Roles with disclosure / active labeled roles

San Francisco598/59999.8%
Seattle90/90100%
New York City89/89100%
US - Remote46/46100%
London, UK16/3743.2%
Singapore4/3411.8%
Washington, DC31/31100%
Dublin, Ireland3/2512%

A posting can carry multiple employer-provided labels and therefore appear in more than one row. Rows are ranked by active labeled roles and do not necessarily sum to the company total. Employer taxonomies are shown as published rather than normalized.

Original units

Source-native salary range distribution

Each row keeps one employer-stated currency and pay interval separate. Bound summaries show minimum / median / maximum across range observations in that row.

No FX or annualization
Original unitPostingsObservationsFull rangesLower bounds: min / median / maxUpper bounds: min / median / max
USD / year658668668$99,000 / $252,000 / $510,000668 stated lower bounds$110,000 / $370,000 / $850,000668 stated upper bounds
CAD / year555CA$140,000 / CA$200,000 / CA$297,0005 stated lower boundsCA$188,000 / CA$290,000 / CA$330,0005 stated upper bounds
GBP / year444£170,000 / £186,000 / £194,0004 stated lower bounds£245,000 / £280,000 / £445,0004 stated upper bounds
USD / hour444$57 / $61.78 / $62.984 stated lower bounds$70 / $86.54 / $108.174 stated upper bounds
SGD / year333SGD 171,000 / SGD 171,000 / SGD 221,0003 stated lower boundsSGD 258,000 / SGD 345,000 / SGD 345,0003 stated upper bounds

A posting may contribute multiple observations when the employer lists separate location or compensation tiers. Posting counts are distinct within each row; observations and full ranges use the range-observation grain. Groups are not compared across currencies or pay intervals.

RoleDisclosed rangeScopeSource
Technical Program Manager, Compute Infrastructure$257,000–$335,000 per yearATS structured compensation range: USD 257,000–335,000 per year.Employer wording (may differ from the structured ATS value above): $257K – $335KNot specifiedOpen role
Research Engineer$250,000–$445,000 per yearATS structured compensation range: USD 250,000–445,000 per year.Employer wording (may differ from the structured ATS value above): San Francisco $250K – $445KNot specifiedOpen role
Research Engineer, Retrieval & Search, Applied Engineering$293,000–$585,000 per yearATS structured compensation range: USD 293,000–585,000 per year.Employer wording (may differ from the structured ATS value above): $293K – $585KNot specifiedOpen role
Researcher, Robustness & Safety Training$380,000–$500,000 per yearATS structured compensation range: USD 380,000–500,000 per year.Employer wording (may differ from the structured ATS value above): $380K – $500KNot specifiedOpen role
Software Engineer, Scaled Abuse$266,000–$445,000 per yearATS structured compensation range: USD 266,000–445,000 per year.Employer wording (may differ from the structured ATS value above): $266K – $445KNot specifiedOpen role
Software Engineer, Data Infrastructure$266,000–$445,000 per yearATS structured compensation range: USD 266,000–445,000 per year.Employer wording (may differ from the structured ATS value above): $266K – $445KNot specifiedOpen role
Training: ML Framework Engineer$295,000–$500,000 per yearATS structured compensation range: USD 295,000–500,000 per year.Employer wording (may differ from the structured ATS value above): $295K – $500KNot specifiedOpen role
Software Engineer, Developer Productivity$210,000–$490,000 per yearATS structured compensation range: USD 210,000–490,000 per year.Employer wording (may differ from the structured ATS value above): $210K – $490KNot specifiedOpen role

673 of 830 active postings contain at least one parseable employer disclosure. Up to eight source examples are shown.

Consecutive snapshots

Verified salary range changes

Same posting and scope
RolePrevious rangeCurrent rangeObserved (UTC)Source
Applied AI Engineer, CyberScope not specified$266,000–$362,000 per year$211,000–$292,000 per yearSep 23, 2026 → Sep 24, 2026Open role
Senior Support Specialist, AdsScope not specifiedCA$140,000–CA$188,000 per yearCA$170,000–CA$188,000 per yearSep 23, 2026 → Sep 24, 2026Open role
Strategy & Operations Programs, SupportScope not specified$216,000–$240,000 per year$216,000–$310,000 per yearSep 22, 2026 → Sep 23, 2026Open role
Support Program Manager, PartnershipsScope not specified$216,000–$240,000 per year$216,000–$310,000 per yearSep 22, 2026 → Sep 23, 2026Open role
GTM Strategy & Operations, PolicyScope not specified$347,000–$405,000 per year$239,000–$265,000 per yearSep 21, 2026 → Sep 22, 2026Open role
Economic Development LeadScope not specified$176,000–$385,000 per year$176,000–$285,000 per yearSep 20, 2026 → Sep 21, 2026Open role
Data Center Shell Planning Lead, Industrial ComputeScope not specified$225,000–$285,000 per year$225,000–$385,000 per yearSep 16, 2026 → Sep 17, 2026Open role
Director, Compute & Infrastructure FP&AScope not specified$234,000–$325,000 per year$293,000–$385,000 per yearSep 16, 2026 → Sep 17, 2026Open role
Economic Development LeadScope not specified$225,000–$385,000 per year$176,000–$385,000 per yearSep 16, 2026 → Sep 17, 2026Open role
Order Management & Billing Lead — Cloud Marketplaces & PartnershipsScope not specified$185,000–$205,000 per year$158,000–$205,000 per yearSep 16, 2026 → Sep 17, 2026Open role
Senior Manager, EHS - RoboticsScope not specified$203,000–$275,000 per year$203,000–$225,000 per yearSep 16, 2026 → Sep 17, 2026Open role
Economic Development LeadScope not specified$225,000–$285,000 per year$225,000–$385,000 per yearSep 15, 2026 → Sep 16, 2026Open role

Showing the 12 most recent of 49 verified range changes.

From the source

All current openings (830)

Openings are grouped by the employer's first department label, then by the earliest successful UTC snapshot in this archive carrying the same source job ID; date groups run oldest to newest. Each row lists the role, location, and posted salary. Every role comes from the latest successful employer ATS snapshot; a multi-label role appears once under its first employer-supplied department label.

Applied AI

110 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 5, 2026

First observed Sep 10, 2026

First observed Sep 11, 2026

First observed Sep 12, 2026

First observed Sep 15, 2026

First observed Sep 16, 2026

First observed Sep 19, 2026

First observed Sep 22, 2026

First observed Sep 23, 2026

First observed Sep 24, 2026

First observed Sep 25, 2026

Business Operations

2 openings

First observed Sep 7, 2026

First observed Sep 14, 2026

Communications

8 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 12, 2026

First observed Sep 23, 2026

First observed Sep 25, 2026

Consumer Devices

27 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 5, 2026

First observed Sep 16, 2026

First observed Sep 22, 2026

First observed Sep 27, 2026

Core Product & Platform

8 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 11, 2026

Corporate Security

5 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 5, 2026

First observed Sep 27, 2026

Data Science

17 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

Executive Operations

3 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 19, 2026

Finance

29 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 16, 2026

First observed Sep 17, 2026

First observed Sep 21, 2026

First observed Sep 23, 2026

First observed Sep 24, 2026

Forward Deployed Engineering

25 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 9, 2026

First observed Sep 12, 2026

First observed Sep 19, 2026

First observed Sep 22, 2026

First observed Sep 24, 2026

Global Affairs

5 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 5, 2026

First observed Sep 24, 2026

Go To Market

144 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 5, 2026

First observed Sep 7, 2026

First observed Sep 8, 2026

First observed Sep 9, 2026

First observed Sep 10, 2026

First observed Sep 11, 2026

First observed Sep 12, 2026

First observed Sep 15, 2026

First observed Sep 16, 2026

First observed Sep 17, 2026

First observed Sep 19, 2026

First observed Sep 22, 2026

First observed Sep 24, 2026

First observed Sep 25, 2026

First observed Sep 27, 2026

IT

8 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 23, 2026

Intelligence & Investigations

5 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 9, 2026

First observed Sep 23, 2026

First observed Sep 24, 2026

Legal

8 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 16, 2026

First observed Sep 17, 2026

Life Sciences

1 opening

First observed Sep 27, 2026

Marketing

46 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 8, 2026

First observed Sep 12, 2026

First observed Sep 13, 2026

First observed Sep 15, 2026

First observed Sep 16, 2026

First observed Sep 19, 2026

First observed Sep 22, 2026

First observed Sep 23, 2026

First observed Sep 24, 2026

OpenAI for Gov

13 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 9, 2026

First observed Sep 10, 2026

First observed Sep 15, 2026

First observed Sep 25, 2026

Partnerships

9 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 10, 2026

First observed Sep 23, 2026

First observed Sep 25, 2026

First observed Sep 27, 2026

People

14 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 24, 2026

First observed Sep 27, 2026

Product Design

7 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 10, 2026

First observed Sep 11, 2026

Product Management

10 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 22, 2026

First observed Sep 23, 2026

Product Partnerships

2 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

Product Policy

2 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 22, 2026

Research

66 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 9, 2026

First observed Sep 10, 2026

First observed Sep 11, 2026

First observed Sep 12, 2026

First observed Sep 15, 2026

First observed Sep 16, 2026

Safety Systems

16 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 12, 2026

First observed Sep 16, 2026

First observed Sep 19, 2026

First observed Sep 22, 2026

Scaling

118 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 5, 2026

First observed Sep 7, 2026

First observed Sep 9, 2026

First observed Sep 10, 2026

First observed Sep 15, 2026

First observed Sep 16, 2026

First observed Sep 17, 2026

First observed Sep 19, 2026

First observed Sep 24, 2026

Security

32 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 6, 2026

First observed Sep 9, 2026

First observed Sep 25, 2026

  • Security Program Manager — US - Remote, New York City, Seattle, Washington, DC, San Francisco · $162,000–$310,000/year · San Francisco, New York City, Seattle or Washington DC; $145,800–$279,000/year · Zone A; $129,600–$248,000/year · Zone B

Strategic Finance

12 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 16, 2026

First observed Sep 19, 2026

First observed Sep 25, 2026

Strategy & Operations

5 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 16, 2026

First observed Sep 17, 2026

First observed Sep 24, 2026

Technical Program Management

14 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 9, 2026

First observed Sep 19, 2026

User Operations

57 openings

First observed Sep 4, 2026

First observed Sep 5, 2026

First observed Sep 12, 2026

First observed Sep 19, 2026

First observed Sep 23, 2026

First observed Sep 24, 2026

First observed Sep 25, 2026

First observed Sep 27, 2026

Workplace

2 openings

First observed Sep 10, 2026

First observed Sep 19, 2026

Provenance

Source and interpretation

Counts come from the named public ATS endpoint and reflect advertised postings, not completed hires, employee headcount, or a claim about company performance. Salary observations are employer-posted ranges, not Posted Band estimates; missing bounds, currencies, or intervals are not inferred.

Open the public Ashby endpoint

Related current data

Links appear only when the latest published company snapshot matches the page's employer-provided role or location labels.

Suggested citation

Cite this dataset

Posted Band. “OpenAI hiring activity.” Ashby public job-board snapshots, Sep 4, 2026–Sep 27, 2026. Updated Sep 27, 2026. https://postedband.com/companies/openai.

Coverage
Sep 4, 2026–Sep 27, 2026
Source class
Ashby public job-board snapshots

Keep the metric window and source class with quoted figures. Public job postings describe advertised demand, not completed hires or headcount. Read the full methodology before extending an observation.